Alechemy Brewing Co. Almighty MOFO IPA

I had my first Alechemy beer at The Lamb on Holloway Road, and it was the awesome Rye O’Rye. It was a bona fide face-changer and ever since I’ve been hoping to see it again. Alas I haven’t seen any Alechemy beers at all in London. Until today, when I popped into my local Oddbins, which has recently received a shipment from Scotia, Caledonia. Eh, Livingston to be precise.

Alechemy

Oddbins in Crouch End is great – it has a dazzling array of beers and they often throw you a curve ball. My eyes lit up when I saw the aesthetically pleasing Alechemy insignia, and I anxiously searched for the aforementioned rye beer.  Alas my search was in vain but I did pick up Alechemy’s Almighty MOFO IPA and boy am I glad I did. I stopped by a nearby pub en route to the offiie and had a bottle of Macro Glory Juice Goose Island IPA, and this DIPA from Alechemy resembles GIIPA (that’s what I’m calling it from now on). With a firm malt backbone, distinctive caramel and a hop punch that’s like being slapped about the chops, it’s a winner.

Stupidly I popped it early; I was planning to drink tonight’s haul in an upwards ABV scale but never mind, I can deal with that. If you are anywhere near north London I’d make a point of getting to Oddbins and grabbing a bottle of this.

About Peter Joseph McKerry

Beer geek, blogger and Celtic-supporting left-winger out of north London
This entry was posted in Beers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Alechemy Brewing Co. Almighty MOFO IPA

  1. anthparkin says:

    I live in the north east of england mate I so want an oddbins up here. Nice review. I’ll keep an eye out for it.

    Like

  2. I may try to get up myself next year.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Oddbins No. 3 Black IPA | Drunken Cinema

Leave a Reply

