12 Beers of Christmas: Day 5

Well this #12BeersofXmas malarkey is proving to be a challenge. Yesterday was a great day – our boss bought us all bacon rolls and told us to finish up at 11.30. This was welcome but it meant that I was in the Old Fountain at midday drinking Pale Fire and Hook Island Red and thus the tone for the day was set. These are great beers, and I had others throughout the day but the beer I’ve chosen for day 5 is Incompetence by Doody Brew.

doodybrew

This ironically titled American Pale Ale was brewed by home brewer turned professional Michael McGrorty. A well balanced, hoppy and dare I say it Juicy Banger of a beer it’s an appropriate choice as Christmas is about friendship, and I’m pleased to say I count Michael as one of my friends now, a friendship that was forged through a shared love of beer. It’s often remarked in the beer community that beer people are good people – and Michael’s generous gift epitomises this. I’d better go now, I’m welling up.

About Peter Joseph McKerry

Beer geek, blogger and Celtic-supporting left-winger out of north London
This entry was posted in Beers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

